Real world value?

Almost everyday I visit the facebook page for Resorts World Sentosa (RWS). I read their posts and updates and usually add a few words of my own. I was doing this for SeaWorld as well, but after three banned profiles I decided to take a break from them. RWS has yet to kick me off their page so I continue posting, commenting and trying to get the word out about the wild caught dolphins they purchased for a new exhibit. Every now and then I get some interesting responses from people and I have shared them on here before. Not everyone feels as I do about issues regarding cetaceans in captivity. One guy from another part of the world said I was just trying to attract attention so shame on me. I found that a little humorous because yes, that is exactly what I am trying to do. I am trying to attract attention to the campaign and fight to get those dolphins released back into their home in the ocean.  I am trying to attract attention to the individuals in this world who profit off the exploitation of animals. If he feels that is a shameful thing, well I suppose he is entitled to that opinion, just as I am entitled to mine.

Another interesting response I got to a post this week was this:

“RACHEL – if you don’t like it don’t go! I on the other hand understand the real world value in programs like this and will try to visit ASAP.”

This was an interesting comment and I couldn’t help but wonder what his idea of “real world value” was. I find it hard to be polite to people sometimes but I gave it my best effort when responding:

“Don – Could you please explain what you feel are the real world values of capturing animals from the wild in order to put them on display for profits? Is the value that people should just continue to want more and more in terms of money and power? Or is the value related to humans continuing to feel that they are superior and can dictate another living creature’s life? Please, I would love to understand your perspective. Meanwhile, I will continue to stand up for what I believe in. I will continue to be a voice to those who don’t have one. And don’t worry, I will never visit RWS.

It is always disheartening when you talk to people who truly feel that keeping wild animals in captivity is not just okay, but beneficial too. They see the other lives in this world as dispensable and inferior. The respect is non-existent and ignorance is their strongest characteristic. There are no benefits to keeping marine mammals in captivity beyond monetary ones. We learn more from studies in the wild because their captive counterparts are such an altered version of the species. I am still waiting to hear what Don feels are the real world value to what RWS has done to the lives of those 27 dolphins.

Categories: Animal Welfare, Dolphins, Marine Wildlife, Oceans, Whales | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

