Blue Waters in Taiji….for now

Blue waters in Taiji, Japan

The 2011-2012 dolphin hunting season has finally come to a close in Taiji, Japan. For those of us that follow the daily occurrences within that small village, that news was not only wonderful to hear but also could not have come at a better time. On February 26th, last Sunday, news came out that the fishermen had slaughtered 98 Pantropical Spotted dolphins. It was heartbreaking to hear that news so when the fishermen started taking the poles off their boats and the doors to the butcher house started coming down I was elated and relieved. I read about the Cove from time to time last year. I knew what was happening and could tell others about it, but this was my first hunting season where I followed every detail every single day. I have been borderline obsessed with reading the updates that would come in from those on the ground in Taiji. And I have to tell you, it was exhausting. Mentally, emotionally, and spiritually exhausting. I am so happy the season has ended. Although, the 2012-2013 hunting season will begin in less than 7 months. The annual kill numbers are decreasing and I will post the numbers from this season soon.

For now, remember the dolphins that lost their lives in that small cove. Remember, the ones who were sent to live in tanks for the rest of their lives after they watched and listened as their families were killed. Remember that at the end of the day, when everyone goes home and has dinner or goes out with friends, those animals are still trapped behind glass, concrete and nets. There are animals all over the world that are being held in un-natural waters, being fed an un-natural diet, and are living un-natural social lives. All for entertainment and all for profits. Remember what fuels the dolphin drives in Taiji and DON’T BUY A TICKET.

Categories: Animal Welfare, Cetaceans, Dolphins, Marine Wildlife, Oceans, Sea Shepherd, Whales | Tags: , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Blue Waters in Taiji….for now

  1. I appreciate this post very much. It is difficult to even read about the killings. I’d like to believe that people participate in captive dolphin programs because they are unaware of more humane options. I have been vacationing with wild dolphins for many years and have had dozens of personal encounters with them. There are some dangers to the dolphins, though, if people are unaware of how to safely and legally observe them in the wild.

    • Yes, reading about the dolphin slaughters can be very difficult. I think the people who visit SeaWorld and participate in swim with dolphin programs are very unaware and just basically not educated about the issue. They don’t know what their money supports. I believe with the correct information, most people would make a very different choice. You are so lucky to have your experiences with wild dolphins! Thanks for reading!!

  2. diane lombardi

    We could all breath a little bit easier now. I’m hoping and praying when 9/01/2012 comes around the cove stays blue forever. One thing I’ve learned PRESSURE, AWARENESS AND NEVER GIVING UP will eventually stop this hunt. I can’t go to Taiji but rest the sure i will continue to send donations, sign petitions,call the japanese embassey etc. TOGERHER WE CAN ALL MAKE A DIFFERENCE!!! These poor creatures suffered enough in Taiji now it’s time we repay them back and protect them.

    • I totally feel like I breathe easier! At least for now. Everything you said is exactly true! We can stop this TOGETHER. I am looking forward to going to Taiji in the next year to stand up for the dolphins. I know that it is hard for everyone to go. I am lucky to still be free of a mortgage and children so it is easier for me to leave for a short while. You should be very proud of yourself for being someone who still makes the calls and signs the petitions. I wish more people helped in the way you do. Thank you so much for reading! And never give up! We will end this. We save our ocean.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

